Reviews

With Malice – Book Review

August 22, 2016
With Malice by Eileen Cook

Pages: 320
Hardcover
Summary: For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life. Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron’s senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident? wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

 

Thoughts: Jill wakes up in the hospital and all she wants to do is talk to her best friend Simone. But it turns out Jill is missing 6 weeks of her memory and her friend Simone died in the car accident that winded her up in the hospital. Everything everyone tells Jill just doesn’t seem real and the media actually thinks she had something to do with the accident!

Mysteries are not my kind of books. I find a lot of them can be predictable or just lame. This one was the latter. It was definitely interesting but it was kind of short and so much of it felt like it was leading up to something big but the end ending up being quick & boring. She ended the book abruptly and never gave a solid solution to the mystery which is okay but it ended too quickly. It felt like they were in the middle of solving the mystery and everyone was like “case closed – we don’t care about it anymore.”

Eileen Cook is a talent writer and the book was very interesting and I loved the plot. I just wish there was more information in the middle. I also wish we learned more about Simone – the real Simone. If it was more detailed, it would have been better in my opinion. I also wish there was more about the actual trip to Italy.

Judging a Book by its Cover: I loved the cover of this novel. It is definitely the reason I picked it up. I have been planning a trip to Italy for so long now so I recognized the photo right away and I love the colours on the cover.

Favourite Quote: “Why is it they say you always hurt the ones you love? Because you know exactly how to do it.”

Let me know how you felt about this book in the comments below!

And for those who haven’t read it, READ IT so we can discuss it!

You can buy it here!

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Top